The Mechanisms: Ulysses Dies at Dawn (4.5*)

2013-08-11 Fringe 0002Ian’s 4.5* Review:

A very talented group of performers with a really interesting, different, musical and enjoyable hour of twisted steampunk storytelling.

Last year we saw The Mechanisms: Once Upon A Time in Space which we loved.  This year, the charismatic Johnny DeVille once again leads his band of space-pirates in a musical storytelling feast.  I must confess I supported their IndieGoGo campaign to make a studio recording of this, but I haven’t yet listened to the CD as I wanted to see them live first.  I really enjoyed it – there was a wider range of musicality this year using the voices of all the band members in different ways in different songs.  It was thoroughly engaging, and I was astonished to discover an hour had passed when the show came to an end.   Highly recommended.

2013-08-11Ruth’s 4.5* Review:

Our second time seeing the steampunk space pirates The Mechanisms.  For the second year this was a wonderful hour of spoken word and song – this time with a bluesy feel.  Compelling and interesting songs, great singers, charismatic performances, wonderful costumes and makeup – I absolutely loved the theatrics of it.  Very very good.  If I had a small criticism it would be that I was so taken up with the performance that I didn’t find it wasn’t easy to follow the story.  Or maybe that says more about me than them.  It’s free Fringe but if you give them a fiver you can have a CD of the show – epic.

Leave a comment