Stewart Lee: Much A-Stew About Nothing (4*)

Ruth’s review:

You know those wanky music snobs who only go to small intimate gigs of up-and-coming bands?  Well I’m a wanky comedy snob who only goes to small intimate gigs of up-and-coming comedians.  Usually.  But today I went to a proper comedy show at a large theatre that I had to pay more than £20 for.  To be fair I got more than two hours of material from a single comedian, so that is decent value.

Stewart Lee.  I like him, I’ve known of him for many years and seen him a few times at the Fringe.  Didn’t get in quick enough for tickets this year, hence I had to go and see his tour.  Stewart’s stuff is really not for everyone.  He isn’t a mainstream comedian because his stuff is a bit – well, weird – but his career has had longevity and he has a loyal following.

In this show we got four half hour sets from Stewart, plus an encore.

Each went down well with the audience (largely comprised of men in their late thirties).  I laughed a lot.

There’s something about Stewart Lee’s style and delivery that is totally unique.  It is calm and prepared and coherent and yet strangely repetitive and sardonic and odd.

But it is clever, clever, clever stuff.  Carefully woven, impeccably timed, and deeply satirical.

I like his stuff, but I really do love him.  I think I wish he was my fun uncle.  Or maybe I am developing a more ‘romantic’ interest.

Leave a Reply

