The Distraction Club – 2

Ruth’s review:

A second attendance at this music comedy compilation show. Brilliant. If I was rating this I would give every single act 4.5*, which is an unexpectedly high standard. I’m not sure how well the Nazi-based Frank Sinatra act (Frank Sinazi) went down with the crowd but I loved loved loved it. Loved Bob and Jim (particularly That’s Not My Gnome) and Johnny and the Baptists was a very funny, charismatic and talented act. Also liked Ria Lina, she’s a terrific singer and her songs are witty and intelligent. It was unfortunate that she singled me out for audience participation to say that I was too prissy and middle class to enjoy her stuff – and I just smiled and sucked it up. That pissed me off – I’d take on anyone in the room in a competition for ‘who likes the most edgy comedy’ and ‘who likes knob gags’ – and I think I’d win both. Ha. Plus we saw Jollyboat and Adam Kay who we have seen and enjoyed before. This is a very good value late night show, and it went on for two hours this time which was awesome.

The very lovely Kirsty Newton

The very lovely Kirsty Newton

Ian’s review:

Absolutely brilliant – really sad that it wasn’t full although I’m not objecting to being able to get half-price tickets.  The house band is brilliant, and I have to confess that the good looks, wit and musical talent of their leader Kirsty Newton is almost enough reason in itself for me to attend!  Each of the band did a number of their own, of a consistently very high standard.  As for the rest, it really was a superfluity of comic talent.  Bob and Jim nearly choked me to death with “That’s not my gnome” (click to watch), and it was great to see some songs from Adam Kay that weren’t in his full show when we saw it (Amateur Transplants: Adam Kay is going for a number 1 – 4.5*).  We got another helping of Jollyboat too – it turns out that their Pirate Pop Songs are still funny fifth time around (we’re not stalking them – they just seem to be at every cabaret we go to!).  Frank Sinazi pushed past the boundaries of good taste for his Sinatra-inspired song 3rd Reich – comic genius.  Rea Lina was also very good, and Johnny and the Baptists brought great energy to finish off the evening.  An absolutely cracking line-up.

There is a part of me that is a tiny bit sad this isn’t the last show of the fringe for us – it would have been great to go out on such a high.  We will DEFINITELY be looking out for this next year, and when we are in London.

Leave a Reply

