Sincerely, Mr Toad (4.5*)

2013-08-01Ruth’s 4.5* review:
I love musicals, I have seen around ten million musicals in my time, and I absolutely loved this one. This musical is based around the life of Kenneth Grahame and it interweaves the challenges in his family relationships and working life with his eventually fulfilled ambitions of writing Wind in the Willows. The resulting musical is magical and tragic, underpinned with both hope and impending doom, which makes for a powerful story. Keith Jack (from TV’s Any Dream Will Do) was really good as Kenneth’s son as one would expect (well I would) but Adam Venus playing Kenneth Grahame was a real highlight. A beautiful and emotional but understated performance. In the technical side I think the set was good and they made good use of it, but at the performance I saw they hadn’t got the sound levels quite right.

Leave a Reply

