Ballad of the burning star (3.5*)

Ruth’s 3.5* review:
This performance was described to us as a story about the conflict in Israel narrated by a drag queen. I guess it was that, but it was more as well. Dark and complicated and not your usual method of storytelling. Along with the main narrator, the story is interpreted – mainly though dance – by a troop of ladies in sexy military uniform. Gorgeous costumes, and very very slick. The performance jumps between the telling and the interaction between the narrator and her troop. It is a harrowing tale, and it becomes more so. I find it hard to know how to judge something like this, I’m certain it won’t be for everyone in terms of its style or subject matter. And I’m not sure it was for me, I wouldn’t say I enjoyed it (and I generally like the deep and dark stuff). But. It was extremely competent and different and interesting.

Leave a Reply

