Lyceum: A Midsummer Night’s Dream (4.5* / 4*)

Ian’s 4.5* Review:

The Lyceum always does a Shakespeare in its season, and this year it was the turn of A Midsummer Night’s Dream – which I have neither read nor seen in theatre before (I don’t quite know how I’ve managed that).

With no points of reference from other productions, I can only say I thoroughly enjoyed this, and thought it was excellent.

The cast all made compelling characters, but Bottom and Puck were truimphant portrayals.  Bottom managed to be thoroughly likeable at the same time as being both painfully self obsessed and utterly hilarious.  Puck was delighfully creepy, and her physical presence on stage was almost inhuman.  Cheeky, charming and completely off her rocker!

In the very early parts of the play, I did occasionally get slightly lost in the Shakespearian language, but I never had the slightest difficulty following the plot.

Having seen this on a preview, I’m posting this as quickly as I can so the review may serve as a recommendation to others.

Ruth’s 4* Review:

I’m no huge fan of Shakespeare but I did think if I was going to see one I might prefer a comedy. And I’ve seen this one before.

I enjoyed it.

The staging was stunning, very very aesthetically lovely with a clean and sparse set (with snow) working really well with a a beautifully costumed cast. The teeny fairies were delicate and pretty. The main characters looked a bit like they were about to enter the Crystal Maze in bright coloured outfits but it all worked very well together.

Bottom in particular was terrific, just the right combination of arrogant, ridiculous and hilarious. The fight between Lysander and Demetrius was also very funny.

I saw something of Bubble from Ab Fab in Puck, and something of Sue White from Green Wing in Titania – but maybe that says more about me than them…

Leave a Reply

